FAQ

Welcome to our FAQ! If you have any questions that aren’t answered below, feel free to contact us.

Nut Free

We say that we are a nut-free facility, and here is what we mean by that:

  • We do not use any tree nuts or ground nuts.
  • We do not use products that say they contain nuts.
  • We do currently have a couple ingredients that have a “may contain nuts” statement. We have been told this is because they purchase some chocolate from growers who also grow nuts, so they cannot be certain that some nuts could be introduced. We do not work with these ingredients at the same time as nut free products. We clean any equipment thoroughly afterwards.
  • We do not allow our staff to bring in/consume products that contain nuts.
  • We attempt to prevent customers from bringing in foods that contain nuts.
  • Because there is some crossover, we also do not use sesame.
  • We do use coconut, which is a fruit – not a nut – and does not appear to have any crossover or correlation with nut allergies.
We do use some wheat (like in our dipped pretzels or cookies). Soy, coconut and milk are all commonly used in recipes. Those are the only ones we are commonly aware of.
The best information we have is that the distilling process removes any of the components that would trigger a gluten allergy. We know people with severe allergies that drink bourbon frequently and never have a problem.
As long as you stick with our truffles that are made with only Straight Bourbon Whisk(e)y, you’ll be in good shape. (Look for any of our truffles that reference bourbon, but do *not* have another flavor added just to be safe.) Straight Bourbons can’t have any colors or flavors added to them. Some other spirits may be allowed to use caramel color or flavorings, and there is always a chance that those may be plant-based.
We currently don’t. Even our extra dark chocolates still involve some lactose in their formulation, and are processed on the same equipment as milk products.
Because we are focused on capturing the flavor of particular spirits, we are looking for very specific flavors and profiles. So far we haven’t found any vegetarian or vegan chocolates that can both meet the taste profiles we need and still be an affordable option.
We are always looking though, and if we find options, we’ll happily use them and promote them.
Unfortunately, no. We haven’t found any sugar-free chocolates that have the complexity of flavor and mouth feel that we require for our chocolates.
Our facility hasn’t been certified Kosher, although some of the chocolates we use as ingredients are certified Kosher. They wouldn’t be modified by us for poured chocolates other than pouring them into the shapes and decorating them. However, this varies widely.
It means that our founder and head chocolatier, Kelly Ramsey, has been through the Stave and Thief Program that was organized by the Kentucky Distillers’ Association® and Moonshine University® to become an Executive Bourbon Steward. She was part of the inaugural class and is currently the first and only bourbon-certified chocolatier in the world.
For special limited-edition collections, like our “12 Days of Bourbon™” set that we release around Christmas, we may include some of the Pappy family of bourbons (anything from the Old Rip Van Winkle up to the true Pappy bourbons) in truffles. It depends on whether or not we’re able to get some. It’s difficult for us to get it, just like for anyone else.
Unfortunately, we can’t get enough to make it a regular offering.
Generally speaking, we try to follow how the distiller markets their particular spirit. So if they’re leading with the name of “Bourbon flavored with _____” we’re going to list it as a Small-batch Bourbon Truffle™. In our shop you might find it with the Small-batch Liqueur Truffles™, but for the actual classification we want to honor the distiller’s vision.
I would certainly hope not. We’re pretty sure that the sugar and calories would send you into a diabetic coma long before you could catch a buzz. And really, you’d have to eat so many truffles that you would probably get a stomach ache long before that.
With all truffles, we recommend consuming them as close to the purchase date as is possible.
At room temperature (74°F or less) sealed truffles will last for about 2 months from creation, although they will be best in the first month. The flavor will gradually get milder over time.
If you need to keep them longer, they can keep for up to 6 months in the refrigerator (*not* freezer), but you will almost certainly get some chocolate bloom or haze that will appear on them. This is usually due to changes in humidity. Let them come back to room temperature and then enjoy them and the flavor should still be there.
Your box should have a date tag with a nearer date and a further date. The nearer is the room temperature date, while the farther is for use if refrigerated.
We have yet to have a truffle that has gone bad in terms of being toxic, but it just becomes a dry chunk of chocolate, and that’s hardly an elegant experience.
We do, but we’re very selective in how we choose our wholesalers. We have learned that our product requires a good amount of familiarity and for it to sell well for a shop, they need to be able to educate their customers about the truffles. It’s not terribly well-suited to traditional retail or boutiques.